By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Educational T-SPLOST and distilled spirits items pass
Shawn Sikes wins District 1 BOE seat
Shawn Sikes
Shawn Sikes won the District 1 Tattnall County Board of Education seat.

Voter turnout was low as usual in Tattnall County for May 24, 2022, election, with an estimated 3,579 votes cast of the 11,452 registered voters. Only 33 percent of Tattnall County registered voters showed up at the polls. 

• The T-SPLOST (transportation) tax for Tattnall County was renewed for the next ten years, receiving a yes from 68 percent of voters. 

• The 1 percent Educational Sales Tax was approved by 66 percent of voters.  

• The issuance of licenses for the package sales of distilled spirits in unincorporated Tattnall County was passed by 68 percent of voters. 

• The regular drink sales of distilled spirits for beverage purposes by the drink to be for consumption only on the premises was passed by 67 percent of voters. 

Shawn Sikes was chosen by voters for the Tattnall County Board of Education (BOE) District 1 seat.

This is Sikes’s first time serving on the BOE. He received 664 of the 978 votes cast. The incumbent, Ronnie Oliver, received 314 votes. 

Two other Nonpartisan positions for Tattnall County BOE were open, although neither had oppositions.  Stephanie Tippins-Thomas, incumbent for District 3, will remain in her position, as well as Dale Kicklighter, incumbent for District 5. 


State races

At press time, only 70 percent of the counties in Georgia had completed their reporting for the election results. The Journal Sentinel was not able to determine if any positions would require a runoff election at press time. 

For Governor, there were five Republican candidates vying for the position. Incumbent Brian Kemp earned 77 percent county wide, followed by David A. Perdue at just 18 percent.

The Democratic candidate for Governor Stacey Abrams will run against Kemp in the November election, since she ran unopposed. 

Republican Herschel Junior Walker was voted for by 77 percent of Tattnall voters.  He was followed by Gary W. Black, who received 18 percent of votes. Democratic Raphael Warnock was carried by  96 percent of Tattnall voters. 

Tattnall carried Republican Burt Jones for Lieutenant Governor by 42 percent of Tattnall voters. Tattnall carried Democratic Kwanza Hall by 19 percent of voters, also for this position.

For the Republican candidate for Secretary of State, 58 percent of Tattnall voters chose Brad Raffesnsperger. Dee Dawkins-Haigler, the Democratic candidate, for Secretary of State  received 26 percent of Tattnall’s votes, followed closely by Bee Nguyen with 25 percent of the votes. 

For US Representative District 12, Republican candidate Rick Allen, incumbent, will face Democratic candidate Liz Johnson in the general election this November. 

Rep. Incumbent Blake Tillery will face off Democratic candidate Michael “Buckle” Moore this November. State Representative Bill Werkheiser ran unopposed for his District 157 seat. 

These statewide races will be decided during the General Election, set for November 8, 2022.

For the latest election results, visit the GA Secretary of State’s website at All results are unofficial at press time.