By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Tattnall BOE considers new policies
Tattnall County BOE

Board members at the Tattnall County Board of Education (BOE) June 27, 2022, regular board meeting were presented with several new policies for discussion and review, which will be approved at the next meeting in July.

These relate to new laws that have led to requirements for approval of certain policies. These include IEDA-Unstructured Break Time; IKBB-Divisive Concepts Complaint Resolution Process; IKBC-Material Harmful to Minors Complaint Resolution Process; and JRB-Parents' Bill of Rights.

The Board also voted to transfer their attorney from Harben, Hartley, and Hawkins to Parker Poe, since attorney Reagan Sauls has moved to the law firm of Parker Poe in Atlanta.  Superintendent Dr. Gina Williams commented that Sauls is familiar with school law and the Tattnall County school system.

The Board formally approved a resolution that declares the results of the ESPLOST (Education Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax) VI vote that was held on May 24, 2022. The vote passed with 2319 voting yes and 1221 voting no.

A school calendar revision was made, with Juneteenth as a holiday for June 19, 2023.  It was observed this year on June 20, 2022. This will impact employees who work during the summer, including summer school.

Certified personnel approved included the following: teachers Victoria Ramirez, Jennifer Brickey, and Rosanne Ferrell at Tattnall County High School (TCHS); teacher Brady Johnson at South Tattnall Elementary School (STES); teacher C.J. Freeman at North Tattnall Middle School (NTMS); and counselor Angie Costen at North Tattnall Elementary School (NTES). TCHS teacher Jodie Wallis was released from her 2022-2023 contract.

Non-certified personnel hired are Donnie Epperson and Rusty Welch, Maintenance (49 percent); and parapros Tonya Reynolds at NTES and Aleena Finn at STES.

Summer school staff approved were Beth Kennedy, Tina Merrill, Kristina Jones, Pinkie Anthony, Willie McKinnon, Glenda Dee Brown, Jacklyn Smith, Donna Fluet, and Julie Pyle.

Student workers approved are Lydia Schuler, Maribel Gonazlez, and Keegun Moore at TCHS; Addison Waters, Chloe Stanfield, and Carleigh Thompson at STES; and Kirstie Collins at NTES.

Contracts for 2022-2023 were approved for the following: April Scott and Shaina Kennedy for Occupational Therapy; Beverly Thompson for Speech-Language Pathologist; Coastal Georgia Community Action Authority, Inc.; All-Green; Georgia School Boards Association: Risk Management Fund-Workers’ Compensation; Family Connection; and Parrish Pest; and 2022-2023 salary schedules and Compulsory Student Accident Insurance renewal.