By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Qualifying ends for Tattnall with six contested offices

Tattnall County qualifying ended at 12 noon on Friday, March 8, 2024, for the May 21, 2024, election, and six offices will be contested.

These are as follows:

*Chairman, Tattnall County Commissioner: William “Bill” J.  Kicklighter, who currently serves as District 5 Commissioner; Henry T. Strickland; and Jeff Weathers, all running as Republicans; 

*District 1 Commissioner: incumbent Ricky C. Jarriel and Charles R. Mulling, as Republicans; 

*District 3 Commissioner: incumbent Billy Conley and Dylan Mulligan, as Republicans; 

*District 4 Commissioner: incumbent Wayne Tatum and Terry Waters, as Republicans, and Ricky Arthur, Sr., and Mourice Collins as Democrats; 

*District 5 Commissioner: Wanda Sue Allen and Edward Zachary Bowen, as Republicans; and

*Tattnall Sheriff: incumbent Kyle Sapp and William Dale Kirkland, on the Republican ballot.

Other uncontested non-partisan offices are: 

*Chairman of Tattnall Board of Education (BOE), Mary Ruth Oliver Ray

*BOE Member, District 2, incumbent Duann Cowart Davis;

*BOE Member, District 4, Seth Edwards; 

*Probate Judge, Tara A. Finnerty; and

*Magistrate Judge, incumbent John Mock.

Uncontested partisan offices, with all of these Republicans, are the following: 

*Clerk of Court, incumbent Paige D. Mulligan;  

*District 2 Tattnall County Commissioner, incumbent Bobby Kennedy; 

*Tax Commissioner, incumbent Laura Faith Adams; and

*Coroner, incumbent Bradley B. Anderson.

The election will be held on Tuesday, May 21, 2024, with early/advance voting in the weeks prior to election date.