By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Qualifying ends for Tattnall cities

Qualifying ended this past Friday, August 25, 2023, for various offices for the cities within Tattnall Counties.

For Mayor of the City of Glennville, those qualifying are incumbent Bernie Weaver, Micah King, and Zuber Malek; for Ward I council seat-Cynthia Miller and Chris Driggers; for Ward 2, incumbent Marc Nobles.

For the City of Reidsville: Mayor-incumbent Curtis Colwell, Vickie Nail, and Steven Richardson; for Ward I-incumbent Verdie Williams, Sydney Clifton, and Nathaniel Joyce; and Ward 2-incumbent Donald Prestage and Steven Drinks.

For the City of Cobbtown, for City Council seats, with candidates running at large-Betty Jo Collins, Danny Ray Collins, and John F. Kennedy.  They face no opposition.

For the City of Collins, for Mayor-Ken Norris and Charles Rushton; council seat at large: James Cowart II, Charles Jan Scott, and Tracy Buford, to fill the unexpired term of Charles Rushton, who had earlier resigned his seat on the council.

For the City of Manassas, for Mayor, incumbent Tonya Edwards; for council seats running at large: Shaun Edwards, Michael Godbee, Rachel Szyper, and Thomas "Bo" Crews.  They face no opposition, since there are four council seats to fill. Shaun Edwards and Michael Godbee are incumbents while Szyper and Crews will be new on the council, effective date of January 1, 2024, to take office.

The election will be held on Tuesday, November 7, 2023, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.