By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Joe Sikes installed as 2023-2024 Glennville Rotary Club President
L-r: Joe Sikes, newly elected Glennville Rotary Club President, and Rotary District 6920 Governor Felix Smith by the newly placed Peace Pole at the Glennville Garden Club Center.
L-r: Joe Sikes, newly elected Glennville Rotary Club President, and Rotary District 6920 Governor Felix Smith by the newly placed Peace Pole at the Glennville Garden Club Center.

Joe Sikes, who is Communications Specialist for Canoochee EMC, accepted the gavel as the 2023-2024 Glennville Rotary Club President, presented to him by outgoing club President Dylan Mulligan in an installation and awards ceremony this past Wednesday, June 28, 2023, at the Glennville Garden Club Center.

Mulligan, 2022-2023 club president, was profuse in his thanks to his fellow club members for their support throughout his year and for their participation in the club's activities and projects. He expressed his gratefulness for the opportunity to serve the club as their leader the past year.

Another highlight of the event was the recognition of two new Major Donors to the Rotary Foundation, who are Dr. Paul Thompson and Assistant Governor Pam Waters.  Thompson was accompanied by his wife, Christi; daughter, Gracie; and mother, Marvelle Thompson. A Major Donor recognizes $10,000 in contributions given on behalf of the individual to the Rotary Foundation, which is the arm of Rotary that provides humanitarian service around the world.

Sindy Strickland, widow of Dennis Strickland, was honored with the presentation of Paul Harris (PH) Fellow designations for her and the couple's three children: Sydney Anne, Clint, and Jack. Sindy accepted the PH Fellow pins on behalf of her children, who were not able to attend.  Dennis Strickland was a longtime member and former club president of the Glennville Rotary Club who died on January 13, 2022.

An Honorary PH Fellow award was presented to Allison Cobb, who attended and accepted the recognition pin for herself and for Jim Wimmer, who was also recognized with an Honorary PH Fellow award.  Allison and Jim are superb supporters of the fund-raising events of the club, especially the annual scholarship auction.

Several Rotarians also received an additional PH level, and these included: Dylan Mulligan and Shellie Smith, PHF+1; Jay Martin and Will Sheffield, PHF+2; Darla Kicklighter and Tiffany Sittle, PHF+4; Pam Waters PHF+5; and Dr. Paul Thompson, PHF+8. Waters and Thompson were both surprised with the Major Donor status after the presentation of the PH levels.

Joe Sikes was installed by 2023-2024 District Governor Felix Smith Polio, along with the other officers and directors for the 2023-2024 Rotary year, which is from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024: Dylan Mulligan, Past President; Lisa Barry, President-Elect; Chris Roessler, Treasurer; Donald Fountain, Secretary; Joe Skeens and Clyde Davis, Sergeant-at-Arms; Darla Kicklighter, Greg Parker, Lee Dubberly, David Tucker, and Terry Waters, Board members.

Dylan Mulligan was also voted as Rotarian of the Year by his fellow club members, and was presented this plaque by incoming president Joe Sikes, who also presented Mulligan with the Past President's plaque. Sikes thanked Dylan for his service to the club and the groundwork that he has set for him for his year as 2023-2024 president.

Also, the 2022-2023 Glennville Rotary Club officers and Board members were also recognized and thanked for their service: Shellie Smith, Past President; Joe Sikes, President-Elect; Chris Roessler, Treasurer; Donald Fountain, Secretary; Joe Sikes and Clyde Davis, Sergeant-at-Arms; and Greg Parker, Darla Kicklighter, Lee Dubberly, and Terry Waters, Board members.

Glennville Rotary Club members were recognized for their pledge to contribute at least $100 each year to the Rotary Foundation until the World Health Organization certifies that polio has been fully eradicated and the world is polio-free. These Polio Plus Society members include: Donald Fountain, Lynda Goodell, Bobby Kennedy, Bill Kicklighter, Darla Kicklighter, Jay Martin, Quentin McArthur, Hugh McCullough, Dylan Mulligan, Greg Parker, Chris Roessler, Charlton Rogers, Will Sheffield, Joe Sikes, Tiffany Sittle, Shellie Smith, Wayne Terrell, Paul Thompson, Donna Tootle, David Tucker, Terry Waters, and Pam Waters.

Shellie Smith also recognized Dawson Cromer for his balloon creations for the event and his entrepreneurial spirit in forming D&M Balloons; Dawson is a rising junior at Tattnall County High School (TCHS). In addition, she welcomed Destiny Hargrove, a 2017 TCHS graduate who has formed her own business, Destiny's Puff & Stuff. Sample bags of her specialty sweet candy-coated puffcorn were placed at each dinner setting.  Shellie, who coordinated the Garden Club decorations for the installation banquet, was thanked for her creative colorful yellow and blue theme throughout the center and table settings.

The addition of the two Major Donors at the event brings the total to nine for the club: Donald Fountain and Zuber Malek became Major Donors in 2021, and others have been Jimmy Dubberly, Brent Walker, Jimmy McCurdy, Dr. Troy Rahn, and Clyde Davis.

Pam Waters also gave a challenge on CART (Coins for Alzheimer's Research Trust) to the club members, encouraging them to give generously each week to the CART buckets placed on the tables at the meetings.  Funds raised through CART are funneled as grants to medical professionals who are researching the disease to find a cure and prevention.  Since 2018, the Glennville club has contributed over $24,000 to CART, a commendable accomplishment, considering the loose change and dollar bills that are tossed into the buckets each week.

The club matched the donations to the CART buckets last Wednesday, with a total of $442 raised for CART.

In the last week, Rotarian Donald Fountain had the club's Peace Pole placed at the rear entrance of the Garden Club Center. New president Joe Sikes and District Governor Felix Smith posed for a picture with this newly placed Peace Pole, which is a monument declaring the message "May Peace Prevail on Earth" in the language of the country in which it is planted and usually several other languages. A Peace Pole is an internationally recognized symbol of the hopes and dreams of the entire human family, standing vigil in silent prayer for peace on earth.

Special District 6920 Rotary guests included Governor Felix Smith of Perry, Georgia; Foundation Chair Hamsa Thota of St. Simons Island; and Mike Muldowney, Youth Exchange Chair, also of St. Simons Island. They were gracious in assisting with the awards presentations.