By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Kemp signs HB 1302 to provide tax refund to Georgians
Brian Kemp
Gov. Brian Kemp

Governor Brian P. Kemp signed House Bill 1302 providing a tax refund to all eligible Georgia taxpayers, announced on March 23.

HB 1302 will provide for a one-time tax credit for taxpayers who filed income tax returns for both the 2020 and 2021 taxable years. Once a qualified taxpayer files an individual income tax return for tax year 2021, the Georgia Department of Revenue will automatically credit the taxpayer with a one-time refund amount:

• Single, Married Filing Separate - $250.00

• Head of Household - $375.00

• Married Filing Joint - $500.00

"When government takes in more than it needs, I believe those dollars should be returned to the taxpayer, because that is your money - not the government's,"  Governor Kemp said. "In Georgia, we are taking swift action to lessen the impact of the federal administration's disastrous policies that have driven record-high inflation over the last year by putting taxpayer dollars back in the pockets of hardworking Georgians. I appreciate our Office of Planning and Budget and the members of the Georgia General Assembly who worked with us to ensure this important measure was passed, and Commissioner Crittenden and the Department of Revenue for their hard work to get these funds dispersed quickly and efficiently."

Taxpayers who have already filed their taxes for tax year 2021 will not need to adjust their tax returns. Those eligible taxpayers will receive their refund in the manner they indicated on their tax return (paper check or direct deposit). The Georgia Department of Revenue has more information on their website.

Governor Kemp, in addition to the many members of the House and Senate who voted in favor of this important measure, would like to thank the following bill sponsors of HB 1302:

• Chairman Shaw Blackmon

• Chairman Chuck Hufstetler

• Chairman Kasey Carpenter

• Floor Leader Jodi Lott

• Chairwoman Karen Mathiak

• Floor Leader Lauren McDonald

• Floor Leader Steven Meeks