By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sheriff Kyle Sapp wins with a landslide; incumbent Billy Conley and Ricky Jarriel keep their seats; Tatum is Republican candidate
Runoff for Chairman race between Strickland and Kicklighter; Wanda Allen wins District 5 race
Kyle Sapp
Kyle Sapp

The incumbents carried the Tattnall elections on Tuesday, May 21, 2024, with Sheriff Kyle Sapp easily keeping his office, defeating Dale Kirkland 3050 votes to 611.

Also, District 1 Commissioner Ricky Jarriel and District 3 Commissioner Billy Conley retained their seats. In the District 1 race, incumbent Jarriel defeated his opponent, Charles R. Mulling, 465 to 237. In the District 3 race, incumbent Conley edged by Dylan Mulligan, 502 to 494. In the District 4 race, incumbent Wayne Tatum won as the Republican candidate against Terry Waters, 426 to 377, and Tatum will be on the November ballot with Democrat Ricky Arthur, who defeated Mourice Collins, Jr., 75 to 45.

In the District 5 Commissioner election, with two newcomers on the Republican ballot, Wanda Sue Allen tallied 390 votes against Zach Bowen's 212 votes, and she will be the new District 5 Commissioner

January 1, 2025.

In the three-way Tattnall County Commission Chairman race, Bill Kicklighter, current District 5 Commissioner, and candidate Henry Strickland will face off in a runoff on June 18. Kicklighter tallied 1582

votes, Strickland 1293 votes, and Jeff Weathers 710 votes. To avoid a run-off, one of the candidates was required to have 50 percent plus one of the votes.

On election day, 2012 votes were cast. Advanced voting was 1918, absentee voting was 118, and provisional 8, for a total of 4056 votes cast. With 13,095 registered voters in Tattnall County, this is a 31 percent

voter turnout.

All results were unofficial at press time at 11 p.m. Tuesday,