By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Retiring teachers/staff recognized by BOE members
L to r: Rikki Lamb, Ann Everett, Barbara Dasher, Kathy Nobles, Teresa Thompson, Marika Crews, and Jean Landman, all retiring at the end of the 2023-2024 school year. {
L to r: Rikki Lamb, Ann Everett, Barbara Dasher, Kathy Nobles, Teresa Thompson, Marika Crews, and Jean Landman, all retiring at the end of the 2023-2024 school year.

Several of the teachers and staff who have retired at the end of the 2023-2024 school year were recognized by the Tattnall County Board of Education (BOE) members at their Monday, June 17, 2024, meeting. These included South Tattnall Middle School (STMS) teacher/Media Specialist Teresa Thompson, North Tattnall Middle School (NTMS) teacher Rikki Lamb, North Tattnall Elementary School (NTES) teacher Jean Landman; South Tattnall Elementary School (STES) teacher Ann Everett; STES paraprofessional Kathy Nobles; STES bookkeeper Barbara Dasher; and BOE Payroll Supervisor Marika Crews.

Teresa Thompson has worn many hats during her 31-year career of teaching, and she was lauded by her Curriculum Director David Tucker and her former principal at STMS. She has served as a Media Specialist at STMS and in Liberty County. He lauded her for her many talents, including Beta Club sponsor that saw many STMS students excel in national competitions.  As a 2020 Tattnall Teacher of the Year, she was among the top ten finalists for Georgia State Teacher of the Year.

Rikki Lamb has taught 30 of her 32 years in Tattnall County, and these included 22 years in Special Education and nine teaching math. Rikki also has coached softball and cheerleading.

NTES  teacher Jean Landman is ending a teaching career of 30 years, and she was complimented on the calmness one felt when they entered her kindergarten classes, with the young children having an obvious fondness and respect for their teacher.

STES teacher Ann Everett is ending a career of 37 years in the Tattnall School System, and her calm demeanor and pleasant personality are admired. She, however, will continue teaching in another capacity at Coastal Plains High School in the evenings.

STES paraprofessional Kathy Nobles is closing out her service as a first grade paraprofessional after 18 years of this commitment.

STES bookkeeper Barbara Dasher has served as the school bookkeeper for 22 years and is looking forward to more time with great-grandchildren. She always was patient and calm when answering the phone at STES and knew to whom to direct your call or find the information.

Payroll Supervisor Marika Crews was complimented for her many years for her knowledge and serving as a sounding board when needed.

Other retiring personnel not in attendance are as follows: NTES: Jennifer Brown, Donna Lynn, Joyce Mead, Donna Burkhalter, Tiny Russell, Sherma White, and Glenda Kingery; at NTMS: Marilyn Shehee; and at STES, Teresa Garrett; at TCHS, Janet Bussell and Jonathon Willoughby; and Transportation, Tyrone Griffin.

Also, at the meeting, certified teachers hired for the 2024-2025 school year are as follows: at STES, Diana Harn; at STMS, Christine Hill-Street; at NTES, Kimberly Murphy; at NTMS, Lyn Peacock.

Non-certified personnel approved include paraprofessionals Belen Oliver, NTES; Shelby Owen, NTMS; Erin Sharpe, STES; and Katie Thompson, STMS; and Valerie Durrence as the Nurse at STES.

Student workers approved include Samarah Firely and Alexis Metzger at STMS, Michael McFadden and Nathan Houser at TCHS, and Emma Smith at the Central Office.

Those teachers released from their 2024-25 contract are TCHS teacher Sarah Morgan, NTES teacher Jennafer Busbie, and NTMS teacher Cathy Beggs.

Several annual contracts were approved as well as  2024-25 salary schedules.{