By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Pinewood Precious Moment
Pinewood’s First Homecoming
Pictured l to r:  1972 Miss PCA, Becky Burkhalter; 1973 PCA Homecoming Queen, Kim Holland; Delbert Bland; and Powers Smith.
Pictured l to r: 1972 Miss PCA, Becky Burkhalter; 1973 PCA Homecoming Queen, Kim Holland; Delbert Bland; and Powers Smith.

It was fall of 1973. As dusk was beginning to fall, PCA came alive with the start of another Pinewood first.  Girls representing grades 9 through 12 came onto the football field and were escorted by football players to centerfield.  Excitement was building and finally the moment of truth arrived:  the 1973 Homecoming Queen, Kay Holland, was crowned.  Kay was escorted that evening by senior football player Delbert Bland.  But this was only the beginning of a memberable evening.  The game went on and on; the score remained 0 – 0.  Everyone became tense – then a score and another score.  A grand finish to a great night with Pinewood winning 7 to 6 against Robert Toombs Academy.

Pinewood had crowned its first Homecoming Queen.  This tradition has continued for forty-six (46) years and this year at half time we will crown our forty-seventh queen.

Several changes have been made over the years.  Fathers or grandfathers now escort the young ladies.  Grades seven through twelve are now represented.  A crown bearer and a flower girl have been added.  A Homecoming Princess is now selected.  The girls are also presented before the game as well as at half time.

Homecoming has become a tradition at Pinewood.  Many young ladies have represented their classes over the years.  As we celebrate the crowning of Miss Homecoming 2022, we have memories of the years gone by.  As we celebrate another Pinewood Precious Moment, we would like to remember all the past queens and their escorts.

To celebrate the 50th anniversary, each of the 49 past homecoming queens have been invited to the celebration of this golden anniversary.  The past queens are as followed:

1973- Kay Holland Culver

 1974- Sandra Brewton Bland

1975- Tammi Coley Berl 

1976- Deidra Kennedy Hilton 

1977- Debbie Durrence Roderick 

1978- Lynda Kennedy Moja

1979- Stephanie Jarriel Lewis 

1980-  Renee Durrence Savitz

1981- Cindy Glisson Edwards 

1982- Ronda Barnhill Walker 

1983- Paige Banks Carter

1984- Lisa Johnson Williams 

1985- Rachelle Ledesma Nall

1986- Wendy Montembeau 

1987- Lisa McCurdy Barry 

1988- Amy Branch Lawson 

1989- Renee Rogers Howard 

1990- Tonya Strickland 

1991- Cyndi DeLoach Rogers

1992- Wendy Durrence Thomas

1993- Anna Durrence Rogers 

1994- Candice Brannen Thompson 

1995- Brooke Anderson Walker

1996- Lori Toole Dutton

1997- Addie Durrence Wiggins 

1998- Ansley Thompson Rogers

1999- Abigale Durrence Covey 

2000- Lindsey Sikes Brown 

2001- Haley Blaxton Wallace 

2002- Shae Kennedy Tarver

2003- Leslie McNeely Braun 

2004- Jenna Lewis Folsom 

2005- Jessica Kennedy Durrence 

2006- Jenny Young 

2007- Elizabeth Tatum

2008- Ashlee Lynn Morris 

2009- Meg Miller McKienny 

2010- Shaina Kennedy Kemp 

2011- Josie Graham Sharpe 

2012- Kate Miller Bosiacki 

2013- Megan Ray 

2014- Edie Threlkeld 

2015- Delaney Pirkle 

2016- Aubrey Ray Sheffield 

2017- Milligan Williams 

2018- Jordan Jernigan 

2019- Ansley Howard 

2020- Payton Rogers 

2021- Jena Bradley